• CLARITY
  • Posts
  • The delight of my eyes taken, my husband's sudden death--ministry plans and trusting God

The delight of my eyes taken, my husband's sudden death--ministry plans and trusting God

not what I hoped to be writing now, but hopefully the pruning will end and more ministry content coming

Dear loved ones—and all on my mailing lists and ministries are loved by me and our Lord,

I was recently reading that one day, after sharing God’s Word, and doing what God called him to do, God told Ezekiel the prophet that God would take the "delight of his eyes" from him. That night his wife died, and God told Ezekiel to get up and preach the next day.

A few days after reading this, on this past Sunday evening, the delight of my eyes, my dear husband Paul was taken home to Jesus. He had a sudden heart attack at the pool in our Mobile Home Park, where he loved to go. They couldn't revive him. I wasn't with him. By the time I got there, he was gone.

It doesn't seem real. We were always together in work and ministry. Our last day was good and loving as always and just before he went to the pool, we told each other how we loved each other as we often did several times a day and always before parting. I have no regrets and incredible thanks for the 30 years we had together.

I am with my sister now, she lost her husband a few years ago. We were redoing our mobile home, which I must finish without Paul. I am overwhelmed now, but I know the Lord will get me through it. Please pray for me on that and just for life.

And Jesus is very near and good. It is well with my soul, though my heart is broken, and it is hard to stop crying and focus. But I must.

It won't be the next day that I return to ministry, I am not as strong as Ezekiel, but I do plan to continue to teach our beloved class at church and I have been working very hard on the series of lessons and content for the fall for both Bible805 and Effective Church Communications (more on that schedule later). And I am working on some eBooks that are about to be updated and finished. My planned launch for much of the online content is mid-September.

I start teaching Bible classes at church in September. Following are the start times. I’ll be sending out emails and more information in the coming weeks. If you are in the Ventura, CA area, I’d love to have you in the live class, but as I have done in the past, following the live class I will record podcasts, videos, and post the notes, and questions on www.Bible805.com, www.YouTube.com/Bible805, and www.Bible805Academy.com. Here is the schedule (the question class is based on the questions you sent it and I am incredibly excited about it—I’ll send the detailed class breakdown out later):

Trust the Bible to Answer Your Questions, beginning Wednesday, September 11, 6:30-8:30, Encounter Church, 6950 Ralston St., Ventura, CA 93003

Why We Can Trust the Bible, beginning Sunday morning, Sept. 15, 10:45-12:00 am, Encounter Church, 6950 Ralston St., Ventura, CA 93003

With the many health challenges and trials of the last year, I was feeling good, and we were excited about getting our home redone after being there 20 years and finally able to it—but the Lord apparently had some additional pruning He wanted to do in my life and though the pain is beyond comprehension, I do believe and affirm with all my heart that He is a good God. One step at a time in obedience is what I pray I will do.

For me to live is Christ. Truly. In times like this, the true reality of our faith, of our Lord is such a precious treasure. What we have believed and I teach, is all true, the Bible is our anchor, and please pray more than anything else that I fulfill the calling God gave me.

I know I have much content I trust was given to me over the last many, many years of study and ministry. I know the Lord wants me to share it. Please pray I fulfill the calling He has given me—that is my most fervent prayer and I truly believe that’s all that matters in the end and I want to end well for my Lord.

Any responses, please send to my personal email: [email protected]

Thank you beyond words for your patience and kindness with me. I do trust days are coming when I can serve you with content and encouragement and that these dark nights of the soul will pass as I know they will.